The Struggle……


We all struggle with something in our lives. The main things that I struggle with are my finances, anxiety, depression, and worrying. I have had a problem with anxiety and worrying for as long as I can remember. If it was something I could not solve or immediately fixed I would worry about it. I still suffer from this now, but not as bad as I once did. Now, when I fine my self struggling in these areas. Instead of making the situation worse and becoming more anxious or depressed there are a few things I do to help me work through my struggles.

1. The number one thing I do when I fine myself struggling with something is to pray. I used to think prayer was a formal conversation, but turns out it does it have to be. Once I found out that God wants us to talk to him as if he is one of our friends, confidant, etc, praying became so much easier. According to Psalms  145:18, “Thee LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” I also like to remember Luke 18:1, when times get really hard. It reads, “Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.” So if you are not sure about prayer just give it a try the next time you are struggling with something, it does not have to be a page long. It can be a few lines as long as it comes from your heart.

2. Another thing I do to help me overcome struggles is reading scriptures and writing them. You can do this buy writing scriptures on index cards, writing in a journible, highlighting them in your bible, and keeping a scripture journal. The key to this process is finding what works best for you.

3. I also do topical bible studies if I am really struggling in an area. I would recommend Precepts ministries bible studies. They offer a wide range from 40 minute no homework studies to more in depth studies. 

4. Journaling

5. Bible based self help books

I would love to hear how you deal with struggles in your life. 

One thought on “The Struggle……

Leave a Reply

